Department of Economics


Welcome to the Department of Economics. We are part of the College of Arts and Science on the flagship campus of the University of Missouri. Our faculty conduct research that impacts both scholarly thought and policy at the international, national, and state levels.

Many faculty members serve in editorial capacities for academic journals, receive external research funding, and consult for businesses and governments. The Economic and Policy Analysis Research Center (EPARC) provides research support to the business community; local, state, and federal government agencies; and the University of Missouri system.

The department delivers instruction to a broad cross-section of the campus, including students in journalism, business, public affairs, and agricultural economics. Our undergraduate programs offer degrees in both the College of Arts and Science and the College of Business.

At the graduate level, we offer M.A. and Ph.D. degrees in economics as well as joint M.A. degrees with mathematics, statistics, and joint M.A. and J.D. degrees. Our students have gone on to successful careers in government, private industry, and academia. Many have achieved national and international prominence.

Please take a moment to learn more by exploring our web site.

David Mandy
Professor and Chair

Seminars/News Briefs


Friday, September 5 - Peter Cramton, University of Maryland
(The High-Frequency Trading Arms Race: Frequent Batch Auctions as a
Market Design Response

View Complete Schedule

Professor Jeff Milyo has been awarded the 2014 21st Century Corps of Discovery Award. This distinguished honor is given annually to an MU professor to highlight their outstanding scholarly or creative work.

Maw Lin Lee, professor emeritus of applied econometrics, passed away March 12, 2014. To celebrate Lee's life, the University of Missouri has established a memorial fund in his name. (more)

The Department of Economics is excited to announce that Aaron Hedlund will join the faculty in the fall.

Congratulations to George Chikhladze for his appointment as the 2014-2015 Walter L. Johnson Excellence in Teaching Fellow. The selection committee (Loginiva, Raymon, Trindade) unanimously nominated George for maintaining high standards while receiving significant praise from his students.

The Kauffman Foundation has released a new study on Missouri charter schools and pension plans. University of Missouri economists Cory Koedel, Shawn Ni, Michael Podgursky, and P. Brett Xiang wrote the study,(more)

Congratulations to the 2013/2014 Department of Economics Scholarship Award Winners who were honored at the Arts & Science Awards Reception Tuesday, February 18.

The Spring meetings of the Midwest Macroeconomics Conference will convene May 30 - June 1, 2014 on the campus of The University of Missouri. More information can be found here.

Complete News Page