2021 Murray Award to Professors Kaplan and Street

MU Economics

The winners of the 2021 Murray Faculty Fellow in Economics Award are David Kaplan and Brittany Street!  This award celebrates faculty excellence and is made possible by a generous gift from Ted and Margaret Murray.

Dr. Kaplan had a banner year; his paper on “Frequentist Properties of Bayesian Inequality Tests” was published in the Journal of Econometrics, and he placed a doctoral student in a tenure-track position at Washington State University. Professor Kaplan currently teaches graduate econometrics courses and leads a doctoral research workshop; Kaplan will take the reins as the Director of Doctoral Studies for Economics this summer.

Dr. Street has received two research grants and a state-funded research contract in her first year at Mizzou; and her study on “The Effect of Own-Gender Juries on Conviction” has been accepted for publication in the Journal of Law and Economics.  Professor Street currently teaches a doctoral course in applied microeconomic methods and is teaching a large section of microeconomic theory in the Missouri Theatre.

Congratulations to Drs. Kaplan and Street; and thank you to Ted and Margaret Murray for all you do for Mizzou!

David Kaplan and Brittany Street