Clay J. Anderson Memorial Scholarship

The Clay J. Anderson Memorial Scholarship is awarded to outstanding undergraduate students in economics. Recipients of the scholarship are juniors and seniors who have demonstrated excellence in their studies of economics, and who have maintained a high-level of academic performance. The scholarship honors Clay J. Anderson Jr., who died in 1983, at the age of 57.

Mr. Anderson graduated from Anacostia High School, Washington D.C., where he was granted the Danforth Foundation award to the graduating senior for scholastic achievement and leadership. During World War II, he served in the United States Army. Mr. Anderson earned his bachelor's degree in 1947, from Northwestern University. In 1950, he was awarded the master's degree from the University of Missouri, where he was a graduate assistant to the late Harry Gunnison Brown, former professor and chair of economics.

Mr. Anderson began his career in the investment business with E. W. Axe & Company of Tarrytown, New York. In 1955, he joined Wellington Management Company in Philadelphia. Early in 1962, Mr. Anderson joined Drexel and Company, also in Phiadelphia, and was named as Drexel's Vice President and Director of Institutional Research in 1966.

In 1967, Mr. Anderson was elected a Director of Drexel, Harriman, Ripley, Inc., of Philadelphia, and from 1963 to 1969, he was Portfolio Manager and Vice President of Drexel Equity Fund, Inc., a growth mutual fund.

In 1969, Mr. Anderson and three partners founded the investment counseling firm of Miller, Anderson & Sherrerd. He continued as a partner of the firm until his retirement in 1979. He was also a Trustee of Drexel University and a member of the Merion Cricket Club and Explorer's Club.

Mr. Anderson is survived by his wife, Ellen Gow Anderson, two daughters, Julia and Kristen, and his parents, Clay and Oma Anderson of Lee's Summit, Missouri.

Past Recipients

2018-2019 Tyler Grellner
  Joshua Miles
  Andrew Raddant
2017-2018 Margaret Brooks
  Josh Eagen
  Tyler Grellner
  Jacob Hager
  Kaitlyn Hoevelmann
  Tyler Long
  Andrew Raddant
  Evan Schick
  Jacob Unterbrink


Mikhayla White


Meihui Zhang


Amy N. Esker


Tristan A. Young


Amy N. Esker


Evan Moore


Dawn L. Schillinger


Dawn L. Schillinger


Jake S. Kreinberg


Percic, Jessica P.


Harris, Katherine A.


Anthony S. Almond


Long Pei


Daniel M. Ramey


Thomas C. Wuennenberg


Eva Dou


Mark J. Fowler


Anthony J. Dubis


Alex Schulte


Andrew Shepler


Shawn Sahota


Andrew Shepler


Alex Schulte


Myung-Hwa Park


John Owsley


Gregory M. Kistner


Erika Thomas


Jonathan Mills


Kevin Vasel


Kathleen Navin


Sara Holzschuh


Samantha Dalton


Nathan Struemph


Matt Lumpkin


Mark Gingrich


Evan Ericson


Raheel Abbasi


Kathleen Navin


Chad M. Nichols


Thomas F. Wood


Tyler C. Thompson


Herman Eckerle


Nancy M. Spudich


Andrew Zumwalt