Elmer Wood Memorial Scholarship

The Elmer Wood Memorial Scholarship is awarded to outstanding undergraduate students in economics. Recipients of the scholarship are juniors and seniors who have demonstrated excellence in their studies of economics, and who have maintained a high-level of academic performance. The scholarship honors Elmer Wood, who died in 1975 at the age of 93.

Elmer Wood was born in Carmi, Illinois on August 25, 1882, the son of Allen Downey and Sarah Ann (Langford) Wood. On June 20, 1929 he married Virginia Poythress Galt.

His education included an A.B. from the University of Missouri in 1916, he was a student at Princeton 1916-1917, and he received his Ph.D. from Harvard in 1937.

Dr. Wood served as a second lieutenant in the 72nd Infantry during World War I, he became a Professor of Economics at North Carolina State College in 1924. In 1930 he returned to the University of Missouri as a Professor of Economics and remained until his retirement in 1964. In 1924 Dr. Wood was an economist with the United States Senate Commission of Gold and Silver Inquiry, a Guggenheim Fellow in 1939, and in 1942 he became the Chief Liaison Officer to the Board of Economic Welfare.

Dr. Wood specialized in the field of monetary theory and became one of the nation's leading authorities. He was awarded the David A. Wells Prize at Harvard for his first major work, English Theories of Central Banking Control: 1819-1858 (Harvard University Press, 1939). (Joseph A. Schumpeter made several references to English Theories of Central Banking Control: 1819-1858.) Another significant contribution to the literature of monetary theory was Monetary Control (University of Missouri Press, 1963).

He published many articles, including "Overproduction and Business Depression", "International Monetary Reconstruction", "Domestic Versus International Economic Equilibrium", "Some Financial Aspects of Current Internation Problems", and "Recent Monetary Policies".

After Professor Woods' retirement in June, 1964, he was awarded the title of Professor Emeritus and remained active within the university system until his death.

Past Recipients

2017-2018 Bradie Britzmann
2016-2017 Rachel Wescott

Nathan Willett


Yue Tang


Trey Sprick


Tyler Stratton


Zhendao Li


Brett Nardoni


Ryan Vandermus


Clayton Borgmeyer


Matthew Taylor


Yiming Zhang


Anne Suggs


Alyssa Stinson


Aaron Jennings


Theresa Chiu


Adam Rentchler


Haley Atchity