Anne Marie Coultrap

Department of Economics alumnus Anne Marie Coultrap has been selected to receive an Arts and Science Recent Alumni Award in recognition of her achievements since graduating from the College of Arts and Science. Ms.

Economics Students Christian Cmehil-Warn and Bryce Fuemmeler

Congratulations to both Christian Cmehil-Warn and Bryce Fuemmeler for being named finalists in the prestigious Rhodes and Marshall Scholarships competitions! You make us proud; good luck with the final interviews!


Joe Haslag headshot

Joe Haslag has been named the Special Advisor for Economic Impact for the University of Missouri System.   Dr.

2019 Winners

On Monday, the Department hosted their annual picnic and also awarded the graduate student awards for the year. Congratulations to our winners, and best of luck finishing out the semester!

David Kaplan, future tigers, and colleagues

Dr. David Kaplan has been named the Tom and Vivian Hall Faculty Fellow by the department of economics!  This award is in recognition of Dr.

Sheila Akers Group Photo

The department celebrated Sheila Akers's retirement with good food, good friends and good memories (and a few gifts, too).  Sheila served most recently as the fiscal officer and office manager for Economics and ran a tight ship… Congratulations, S

2019 Murray Faculty Fellows

Cory Koedel and Aaron Hedlund were named the 2019 Murray Faculty Fellows!  Dr. Koedel is an Associate Professor in Economics and Public Policy; his research examines the effectiveness of strategies for improving educational outcomes.  Dr.

Economics Majors & Peer Mentors at Shakespeare's

Incoming Economics majors met their peer mentors, junior and senior economics majors, at Shakespeare's Pizza on Thursday, September 12. Peer mentors are a valuable asset to show new students the ropes.

Patriot Day Wreath-laying Ceremony

Mizzou alum John Charles Willett (BS 1995 in economics) was killed on September 11th, 2001 in the terrorist attacks on New York City.  He worked at a subsidiary of Cantor Fitzgerald and his office was on the 101st floor of the north tower of the W